Norwood & the ADA/CASP

Americans with Disabilities Act

Norwood Construction Services is a multi-faceted company. We are as diverse as we are experienced. The Americans with Disability Act (ADA) was signed into Law in 1991. Since the signing of the law by President George Bush, individual states have followed the lead of the federal Government and enacted their own version of the law. There are multiple parties involved. Our ADA/Casp specialists will interpret the Federal and State codes guaranteeing your project will meet all required standards. Norwood Construction Services can provide the following services to assist you in your projects:

  • ADA/Casp Building Compliance
  • Plan review for ADA/Casp compliance
  • Site and building surveys and inspections for ADA/Casp compliance
  • ADA/Casp reports
  • Cost analysis
  • Litigation support
  • Guide you through the process to bring your property into compliance
  • Partner with your contractor to ensure the completed project will be rated
  • “Barrier Free”

Norwood Construction Services ADA/Casp services

In 2003, Senate Bill 262 was passed and incorporated into Government code 4459.5 Senate Bill 262 placed the following requirements on the Division of the State Architect (DSA): “the State Architect shall establish and publicize a program for voluntary certification by the state of any person who meets the specified criteria as a certified access specialist.” Furthermore, the State Architect is to make available to the public a list of certified access specialists who meet the specified criteria.

The purpose of the program is to further professionalize the field of disability access rights so that those who engage the services of design professionals, building officials, contractors, and architects may do so with the confidence that they understand accessibility issues.

With this in mind, what is a Certified Access Specialist? Certified Access Specialists are individuals who have met minimum criteria as determined by the State Architect, which may include testing on knowledge sufficient to review, inspect, or advocate universal design requirements and standards governing access to buildings for persons with disabilities.

Let NCS help you obtain a “Barrier Free” building and or campus.


  • USDOJ (United States Department of Justice)
  • ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act)
  • FHA (Fair Housing Act)
  • ADAAG( Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines)
  • CBC (California Building Code)
  • ABA (Architectural Barrier Act)
  • ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
  • ICC (International Code Council)
  • NFPA(National Fire Protection Agency)
  • AIA(American Institute of Architects)